Join us for the launch of our region's new transit coalition: Transit Forward Philadelphia

*Update: This event is sold out but we will be recording the Q&A panel and it will be posted on our website. We apologize if you were unable to RSVP beforehand. Please check back on our website shortly following the event to view the recording of the panel discussion. 

You are cordially invited to the launch of Transit Forward Philadelphia, a member led coalition of organizations and individuals that have come together to advocate for a safer, more accessible, equitable, and sustainable transit network across Southeastern Pennsylvania. This event is open to the public and the announcement will be an opportunity to learn about why this group of organizations has joined together to fight for better transit, what SEPTA and the Kenney administration want to accomplish, and how everyone—transit riders, community organizations, and residents—who want to improve public transit in Philadelphia and its suburbs can join this fight alongside us.

On Thursday, March 5th from 5:30PM - 7:30PM at Azavea (990 Spring Garden, 5th Floor) [Azavea is ADA Acessible, see information below] Transit Forward Philadelphia will be hosting an open house with our new Transit Coalition organizer Yasha Zarrinkelk, who will discuss the principles and priorities that brought together this coalition, and the opportunities we see to improve our public transit network, and increase access to jobs, housing, and opportunities through the Philadelphia region, while making the system fairer in the process.

There will be a panel discussion and Q&A portion featuring representatives from SEPTA and the City to discuss the steps that officials are taking to strengthen our network and improve service for all Philadelphians. Transit Forward Philadelphia is pleased to welcome the following guest speakers: 

Leslie Richards, General Manager of SEPTA

Chris Puchalsky, Director of Policy and Strategic Initiatives for City of Philadelphia's Office of Transportation, Infrastructure, and Sustainability (oTIS)

Helen Gym, City Council Member at Large for the City of Philadelphia

With important upcoming decisions about SEPTA's fare policies, the forthcoming bus network redesign and trolley modernization initiatives, and looming funding challenges, it's more important than ever to come together and support better mobility and access for Philadelphia and Southeast PA families. We take great inspiration from transit advocates in cities across the country who have successfully organized transit riders and community organizations to win faster, more reliable service, fair fare policies, and sustainable transit funding, and we look forward to building a powerful voice for transit here in Philadelphia. 

We look forward to seeing you on Thursday, March 5th at 5:30PM at Azavea! Please RSVP below.


ADA Accessibility Information: The building has two ADA lifts to assist individuals to get into the building, one in the front (Spring Garden Side) and another in the back (Parking Lot Side). There is a front entrance on Spring Garden Street and a back entrance that can be accessed from the parking lot of the building, located on 10th Street. Both entrances have ADA lifts and each lift is equipped with a remote bell that will signal to the front desk if assistance is required to enter the lobby. Once in the lobby, there are three standard elevators that take guests directly to the Fifth Floor of Azavea.

Should you need further assistance regarding accessibility, please contact, Yasha Zarrinkelk, Transit Coalition Organizer at [email protected]

March 05, 2020 at 5:30pm - 7:30pm
990 Spring Garden St
5th Floor
Philadelphia, PA 19123
United States
Google map and directions
Transit Coalition Organizer · · 215-242-9253 Ext. 313
Tim James Jamie Gauthier Flora Castillo Kiersten Mailler Kelly Edwards Emily Jacobi Sandra Dandridge Josh McNeill Vaughn Ross Krista Guerrieri Alina Townsend Liam McGrath Samuel Rubin Toya Haynes Justin Roczniak Alison Macrina Francis McCloskey Kevin Fuller Garrett O'Dwyer Tony DeSantis Levo Wadley Bert Cossaboon Bradford Morbeck Thomas Stewart Steve Rosenberg John Owens Todd Schwartz av av Florence Buckley Melanie Mazanec Gennadiy Kapkanov Anne Mitchell Marisa Denker Edmund Dornheim Caroline Burkholder Liam Dougherty Amy Bernknopf Claire Jaffe Geraldine Savoy Abigail Poses Dan Farrell Ross Bernet Jia Yuan Cameron Adamez Anna Biegalski Miles Owen Jeff Stern Eric Colon

Will you come?